All schools in the State of California are mandated to enforce Compulsory Education Laws which require all students between the ages of 6 and 18 to attend school. California law allows schools to excuse student absences for only a few reasons – illness, doctor appointments and family funerals. Allowing your child to stay at home for other reasons will not be excused and may lead to your child being a truant. Every day your child is absent, he/she is losing valuable instructional time. Please contact our Attendance Office Manager, Ms. Sanchez, if your child missed school or PSA Counselor, Ms. Stevens, about attendance regulations or if your child has an attendance problem.
Fever over 100.4 degrees F or 38°C.
The child may have a contagious illness or rash.
The child is not well enough to participate in class.
Fever is a symptom which usually indicates that the body is fighting an infection. A child with fever over 100.4 degrees F (38°C) needs to stay home until the fever is gone for 24 hours.
A cough need not keep a child from school unless it is interfering with sleep or ability to take part in activities.
Coughs and runny noses can persist for up to two weeks after a cold.
Children can return to school once they no longer have a fever.
symptoms as well, such as fever, vomiting or abdominal pain.
Children with a vomiting illness (repeated vomiting) need to stay home until
the vomiting stops and they are eating normally.
Children with diarrhea also need to stay home until stools have been normal for at least 24 hours.
Frequent hand washing with soap and water is the most important and effective way of preventing the spread of contagious diseases.